Create tool path in Fusion 360

Hi,
Could you make a video on how to generate toolpaths from the github dxf files?
I’m fairly new to CAD/CAM. I have done a few small CNC projects using Fusion360 and I’m able to import DXF file into Fusion. But I’m puzzled on how to generate toolpath from here. Based on the naming convention, it looks like each sketch is mapped to a cut. Could you share more information?

Thanks

I learnt from watching this video - have a watch of this and then ping me any questions; I’m happy to walk you through as well if you want.

1 Like

The video is extremely helpful. Thank you! My understanding is that once DXF file is imported, I should double click a sketch, select all, then extrude. This works for
sketch : 0_SHEET_SPRUCEPLY_2440X122 and 3_ANYTOOL_CUTTHROUGH_INSID, however, it doesn’t work for me for 5_ANYTOOL_HALF_MILL_9MM_IN. Not sure what I have done wrong, Fusion complaints “no target body to cut or intersect”.

Would you be kindly to meet and walk me through it ? I’m in Canada Eastern timezone (GMT-4). I’m happy to work around your schedule.

Thanks!

Oh that makes sense!

That path (5_ANYTOOL_HALF_MILL_9MM_IN), is actually a pocket cut out of the material. It’s 9mm of material removed out of the 18mm sheet of plywood.

The error message you got sounds like it is trying to extrude using the “Cut” method, instead of the “Join” or “New Body” method. I can jump on a call now, send me a zoom link or similar!

Thank you Lachlan to jump on a call and show me how to do this in Fusion360. As a way of paying forward, I made this video and hope it helps others https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRqqsVoRqP8

1 Like