Cutting every blocks on a CNC router 1500mm*1500mm (4x4ft)

Hello y’all, peace and blessings,

I’m about to buy a CNC router for the journey and I was wondering:

Would it change something to make the blocks sliceable on a CNC router 1500mm*1500mm (4x4ft)?

I basically ask this question since a 1500mm3000mm (4x8ft) router table is (usually) tends to cost a lot more than a 1500mm1500mm CNC router. Would cutting smaller blocks affects the overall solidity of the structure?

Any smart brain out there who would share some knowledge with me :smiley: ?

Are you looking to cut one Wikihouse or start a company doing so?

A bit of both! :smiley:

I’m really passionate about off-grid living/leaving the matrix. But to answer the question, I would cut more than one house in a perfect world!

I’m not a structural engineer, but I think it matters a lot, because basicly you have to make more joints, meaning a weaker structure. Of course it also depends on the design. If you are planning to make small structures like one level garden shed/ studio, it might be possible to use smaller parts? Probably some additional testing and structure calculations are needed… At least you shoud check with the OSL/ Skylark team! @Clayton @Gabriele

1 Like

Interesting @Vincent, thank you for the input.

Hi Lalonde! What CNC are you looking at by the way? I think smaller ones are also slower, so you will be spending more time redesigning the system as well as more time cutting it!

1 Like

Currently, if I aim for the cheapest option, I could get a 2.2kW CNC router 1300mm*2500mm from China, shipped to Canada for around 3500$CAD.

Afterwards… it really depends… if I aim to get a full CNC router table with vacuum then… either I get one from China, with my contact once again… spindle 3.5@4.5kW (around 8,500$CAD) or I get a used from for Canada but probably will have to upgrade a few things here and there. 5,000$CAD if I’m lucky, up to 12,000$CAD.